2013 so far…

Whoa. I’ve recently had a crazy spike in readers. Not sure why, but boy am I so ridiculously behind on here.
So I was planning on sharing this quote at the year’s start. Luckily we still have quite a bit time left, and the sentiment still rings true.

“I hope you will have a wonderful year, that you’ll dream dangerously and outrageously, that you’ll make something that didn’t exist before you made it, that you will be loved and that you will be liked, and that you will have people to love and to like in return. And, most importantly (because I think there should be more kindness and more wisdom in the world right now), that you will, when you need to be, be wise, and that you will always be kind.”  Neil Gaiman

Isn’t that quote just the bee’s knees? I found it in December, marked it, and then never told anyone about it.

Alright…so where’ve I been?

Well I started the new year (as I have the past three) in Austin, Texas. We revisited favorites Opal Divine’s and Trudy’s. And threw a few new spots into the mix as well. Namely, Franklin BBQ and Blackheart. I am pescaterian (pretty much, I mean, I cheat a few times with bacon-wrapped dates because OMG) for 364 days out of the year, but I can’t go to Austin and not eat BBQ. So I’ve begun this tradition of a meat day during our visits. In years previous, I’ve stopped at turkey, but Franklin is famous for its brisket and, well, y’all, I ate some cow. And it was dipped in lard. And it was pretty delicious. Burnt ends happened too. And a couple bites of pork rib. And sausage. And yes, turkey. Thankfully my stomach cooperated unbelievably well.

Blackheart is where we rang in the new year and it’s part of this newish development on Rainey Street wherein they’ve turned most of the houses on (what used to be) a blighted block into bars and restaurants full of character. A friend was DJing and we could see the fireworks from the backyard, and it was all pretty perfect.

I’m referring to 2013 as the year it all comes together, and it’s off to quite a start.

I came back to town knowing it was time to buckle down. I’ve been living on savings for quite a while and – as it turns out – when you do that, your savings runs out. And at the end, it seems to go faster. My friends have been terrific with advice and budgeting tips and networking.

My rent is my biggest expense, so I started looking into roommate options. Even tho I am very anti-roomies at this age and stage in my life. And then the tide started changing. And things started happening. And money started coming in. Bit by bit. Thank the good Lord.

The funny thing is, as with most things, it isn’t the way I expected. First, it was an additional babysitting job. Then a parttime researching gig (from home). Here’s the thing about me: productivity begets productivity. And in the last month, I’ve probably written more than I have in too long. A variety too. Everyone keeps recommending I write an original pilot in order to get attention of the scripted world, so I’m in the process of that. And then I came up with the idea for a collection of essays/short stories that was well-received. Throw in some song lyrics and screenplay tinkering and I’m basically allowing my brain to go in whatever decision it wants to. Notes everywhere. Albeit not on here, so apologies for that!

I’ll try to be better.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2013 so far…

  1. Dad says:

    As always, my wish for you is happiness. May this be the year that everything comes together for you. Love Ya!!! Dad

Leave a Reply

