Kid Wisdom

(I originally wrote this blog entry in April. I have no idea why I didn’t publish it then.)

I read mom blogs. I could pretend like I don’t, but why? I love looking at the pictures. I love reading the stories. I get semi-obsessed about the productivity of ladies much busier and craftier and more creative than me. I wonder how they do it all. And I respect their honesty when they have a rough day – or week – or month. And when I’m trying to figure out when they find the time to raise kids, and write awesome things, and cook and create and decorate like I wish I could/would…I get to thinking.

They had to be like this before, right? It’s not like they became a wife and a mom and then all of this stuff just clicked, right? They were creative BEFORE. They cooked dinner BEFORE. Right?

Sometimes I’ll be evaluating my day at its end, and wonder what the heck I did. How did I fill the hours? With whom did I interact? What do I have to show for my day? More and more it’s harder to account for everything.

I’ve been in a weird space and I’m trying to figure out how to – as one friend put it – flip my script.

I brought up the mom blog thing because I read a line from one today that stuck with me.

The other day I overheard Archer explain to Fable that her best friend should be herself. She was talking about her best friend at school and he was like, “No. She can be your second best friend. But YOU are your first best friend because you have to be able to hang out with yourself forever for your whole life.”

Don’t get me started on how much I love this woman’s name choices or how beautifully she photographs her children. Also, there’s nothing like reading someone else’s honest account of their struggles to make you sit back and say, “Phew! Mercury MUST be in “wtftrograde” because she’s having issues too right now.” Misery loves company.

But back to what she taught Archer (who then taught Fable)…how awesome and achieved she must have felt to hear it used in such a heartfelt – and effective way. And then to have it repeated at a time when she too needed to hear it…I mean, that’s got to be one of the best parenthood days ever, right?

If there is one thing I’m sure of, it’s my ability to spend time with myself. And I think if we could all give ourselves the advice we would give best friends if they were in our situation (and follow it!), we would probably be in pretty good shape.

This entry was posted in Life, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

