Update

Six months ago, I suspended my DirecTV as a trial. Could I really live without hundreds of channels at the tips of my fingers? Well, here’s the proof I can. I’ve officially canceled my service and am sending the receiver back and everything.

Don’t get me wrong. I have nothing but love for DirecTV and the customer service guy was super nice about everything and I can go back whenever I want.

Even tho it hasn’t worked since last fall, it’s a little bittersweet to actually send it away. Then I remember that everything I really want to watch can be found on the internet. In addition, we usually have Mad Men nights, and I’m sure we can transfer those to Breaking Bad nights. Apparently I’m a fan of shows featuring alliteration. Speaking of, even House Hunters is available on Hulu. I will survive.

I’ve gone as far to put an ad on Craigslist to sell my TV. My DVD player has decided (after almost 10 years) that it doesn’t want to work anymore, so I really don’t have a need for it. It’s not a fancy wall-hanging one, and I figure when I decide to return to the land of television entertainment, that’s the kind I will want anyway.

In other television entertainment news, I am finishing up my spec script and submission for a studio writing workshop. It’s been a mostly fun process and only when someone asks if I came up with the idea myself do I realize that, with minor suggestions, I did…which means I have basically written an episode for one of my very favorite shows.

Don’t get excited, it won’t air or anything, but it’s been on the to-do list for over a year. So the fact I’m so close to checking it off is unbelievable. Throw in the fact that I am connected to someone who knows the creators of said show who has offered to take it to them (separate from the writer workshop submission) and the possibilities are endless. I’m excited to see what – if anything – happens. Even if nothing happens, I will have done my part, and it won’t be for lack of trying.

——–

I went to a Dodgers game this week. Magic was there, and I’m not sure if this has happened at every home game so far, but people went bat sh*t crazy for him. First there was the pre-game chanting “Thank you Magic!” People had signs and everything. At one point during a break in the game he was put on the big screen (as were two white guys sitting next to him whom I told co-own the team with him). The place ERUPTED in cheers. Like louder than when the Dodgers won the game. Everyone got on their feet. It was ridiculous..ly awesome. I got chills and felt like I was a part of something. Magic sheepishly smiled, stood-up and waved whilst spinning on the pedestal that raised up from the ground.

Just kidding. About the pedestal part.

He did seem to bask in a certain glow tho. Nobody threw flowers, but I bet they wanted to.

I don’t get into politics. Much less politics about sports. But I’m happy for happy people. And if Magic is what it takes, give ’em Magic.

Magic hour at Dodger Stadium

Our seats were super awesome and not expensive at all. I took the this pic before the game, which is my effort at explaining the empty stands. They filled up a little bit…but it WAS a Monday night game.

Also, I love when the players all stand on the fence like that. It reminds me of kids at a little league game.

The important part is that the Dodgers won. The sad part is they don’t shoot off fireworks when they win. (Like the Cardinals do.) I think they just have fireworks on Friday nights. Maybe Magic will change that.

Public Service Announcement: The yellow cotton candy in the bags with the pink and blue at the concession stand is not good. Buy cotton candy from the cotton candy guy walking around inside. Even if the game hasn’t started yet, and you’ve proudly announced you’ll just get it later. HE’LL NEVER COME BACK. It’s also cheaper, and it’s pink or blue. No yellow involved. #themoreyouknow

This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

