It Had To Be You

20120504-094246.jpg

I’ve been babysitting lately to help out a friend and earn some cash. (Everybody wins!)

It also gets me into a routine and makes me thankful for – and useful of – my free time. As well as gives me a peek into the world of caring for two babies born close together. With “advanced maternal age” (shudder) on the horizon, I can’t discount that skill as well.

That being said, sometimes I have to take naps when I get home.

Ok so I’m spending my days with a newborn and an 18 month old, and it runs pretty smoothly. Really smoothly actually. Mostly because if the toddler wants me to do something, I do it.

Whether that be read books, play the piano, or do the hand motions for Itsy Bitsy Spider for the millionth time in a row. Because she’s fun and funny and indulged toddlers are happy toddlers and happy toddlers rule the world.

(She also likes to imitate things I do/sounds I make and calls me Mae Mae and I’m a sucker for cuteness.)

She has this keyboard (shown above) and she likes it when you play it. Especially if the first time you play it you attempt to play every random song you know on the piano. Using two hands blows her mind and excites to no end.

I never stuck it out with piano lessons, and aside from the first little ditty I ever learned, I only know bits and pieces of other songs like The Rose, Heart and Soul and whoever’s Surprise Symphony.

Well imagine MY surprise – and delight! – when, while tinkering around yesterday, I figured out a huge chunk of It Had to Be You. I got all the way to “I stumbled around and finally found the somebody who.” It’s surprisingly a really easy song. She didn’t know why I was so happy and clearly hasn’t seen When Harry Met Sally yet, but she high-fived me back anyway. Because toddlers love it when you’re happy and goofy and giving them high fives.

They really are a perfect audience. If only you could teach them how to record things on the IPhone. Baby steps.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

