Out of the Mouths of Babes

I think I’ve mentioned here before that several of my friends are randomly teachers. As in, for the most part, my friends who aren’t in the industry are teachers. I’m not sure how that has happened, but it has.

One of them teaches a combo first- and second-grade class.

Yesterday she asked me if I could fill in today for a room mom who canceled. She walks the kids to the local library once a month and needed extra eyes and hands. I’ve never been a room mom – or “room aunt” as I decided I should be called.

It’s a private school, so the kids are adorably uniformed and it’s quite a scene to walk a line of little plaid kids along a major street. People in passing cars were taking pictures. Which leads me to my favorite quote of the day.

“I bet they think we’re orphans.”

Wait, what? I couldn’t help laughing. I asked her what orphans are, and she explained it perfectly.

The kids asked how old I was, and I told them.

“You look like 20 or 27.”
“My mom is 45.”

“She’s skinny for her age.” (That gem was told to another adult as they followed me down the sidewalk.)

“Is she married? Are you married?”

Nope. (I was prepared for this one, as they’re really concerned about their teacher – my friend – being single and alone. Especially when she’s sick.)

So I asked them where I should go to meet someone.

“Shopping malls and grocery stores.”
“Any particular store at the mall?”
“The ice cream one.”
“What about fro yo? Does fro yo work? I prefer fro yo.”

We got to the library and the librarian is awesome and I helped the kids pick out books and was happy to see Amelia Bedelia is still a hit.

I have to admit tho that after three hours with the little darlings, I was ready for a break. My respect for teachers continues to grow. I mean seriously. How do they do that all day?! That being said, I love that I have the opportunity to drop in and help. If for nothing but the funny convos and love advice.

This entry was posted in Life, New Experiences. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Out of the Mouths of Babes

  1. Suzans says:

    Where’s the like button?

  2. Meagan says:

    I’m glad you were able to help too! You saved me big time!!!

Leave a Reply

