Moats and Boats and Waterfalls

So…um…I’m going on a cruise.

Immediately after I published the blog about my plan yesterday, I got a text from a friend. “Have you ever been on a cruise?” I didn’t go into the fact that I don’t really see the point in cruises. (I think I’ve mentioned that here before.) Or that cruises are the one thing I’ve willingly done without travel-wise because of a fear of my motion sickness tendencies. I just said no.

Then she gave me the details. It’s some famous neurologist’s birthday. It’s going to be a lot of doctors. It’s a 4 day cruise. To the Bahamas.

I’ve never been to the Bahamas. But I really like Bahama Mamas. And when she said “neurologists,” I pictured McDreamy.

Four days is as long as I ever thought I could handle being on a cruise anyway. When I mentioned the motion sickness thing, (I have prescription patches so it’s really not that big of a deal.) she reminded me I’d be on a boat full of doctors.

Let’s face it, I’ll do anything to not finish my match.com profile.

I was slowly wholly sold on the idea. But I was trying to get some work on a local Oscars show, and the cruise leaves that same wkend, so I had to wait to get an answer before I gave an answer.

Today I got that answer. So in less than 24 hours, I’ve decided to go on my first cruise in two and a half weeks. I love my life.

Ok, so the only thing I really know about being on a cruise ship is from An Affair to Remember, The Love Boat, Titanic, and that time Irma and Wally got married on Growing Pains. I hope those are realistic representations, and I rest easy knowing there won’t be any icebergs in the Caribbean.

I’ve got 18 days to get my pasty winter body ready to spend four days straight in a bikini. More-than-slightly easier to handle will be the transition to laying around all day.

This is the part where I confess to dropping off the Shred train, but I will say that I have been way more active since starting it. And I will be picking it back up for at least the next 18 days. Punch!

This entry was posted in Life, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

