Choosing My Own Adventure

My gma’s bday is in a few weeks. For the last 4 or 5 years I’ve been going home for the event. At 89, she is older than anyone in her family has ever grown to be. And has been for several years. So it’s like we’re getting all this bonus time with her, and I don’t want to miss a chance to celebrate each passing year.

As I was looking for a flight home, I had a thought. As I have been applying for jobs and seriously trying to find one lately, the responsible thing would be to grab a ticket on Southwest, as it’s the most easily adjusted should a gig come up.

But I haven’t got a job yet, and all current roads are leading to cul-de-sacs. So here’s kinda what I want to do instead:

1. Drive to STL for my gma’s bday. Because of the time of year, I’d probs have to take the southern route, but whatevs.

2. Spend five days there and head down to Austin to volunteer at SXSW. (Bruce!) En route I could maybe watch one cousin barrel race in a rodeo or perhaps get a last-minute seat at the judging table for a toddler beauty pageant run by another cousin. (Timing would really have to be on my side.)

After Austin, I’d have a choice…depending on what may or may not be happening on any job fronts…or if I’m tired of driving, I could simply head home. Stopping (of course) at the Shady Dell along the way.

On the other hand, if I still have feeling in my butt, I could head east. All the way to Savannah, passing through New Orleans. Both are cities I want to see AND I’d be able to check Louisiana, Mississippi, Alabama and Georgia off the lists of states I haven’t been to.

From there I’d head up through the Carolinas (check, check)…and then go west. Stop at Dollywood if I feel like it. Crash at my parents place for a night on my way back through the midwest.

I mean, why not? Right?

I don’t NEED an Airstream to do that, and it’d be a lot cheaper to do it in my lil coupe. I have couches in Missouri, Oklahoma or Arkansas, Texas, New Orleans, Georgia, North Carolina…

Other things I’ve decided I’m going to do:

1. Sasquatch. Birthday happies to me. Let’s go camping in The Gorge and surround ourselves with awesome music.
2. Alumafandango. Even if I don’t have an Airstream by then, I’ll befriend tons of people who do, and learn everything I can about them (the silver bullets, not the people…ok maybe the people too).

One thing I know for sure. I can’t sit and be idle. It doesn’t work for me. It’s not working for me. I feel like I’m on the cusp of something and I haven’t figured out what it is yet.

Now this is a penciled “plan.” Should things be altered, I’ll roll with it as that will then be a part of the new “plan.”

This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

