R-O-C-K in the USA

I can’t remember the last time I was at a rock show.
Before last night I mean.

I’m very much a singer/songwriter girl, but I also love fun times and rarely pass up an opportunity or an invite. Live music is my jam. (Saying things “are my jam” is not my jam, but I’m going with it.)

So last night my friends’ neighbors were opening for Steel Panther at the House of Blues.

They put us on “the list.” I will never hate being put on a list. Oh! Which reminds me of my last rock show. It was the Vox at the Viper Room a few years ago. No, wait, I’m lying. I have a friend in the band Death to Anders. I saw them play last fall. And then there was another friend with neighbors in a band. Nevermind. I go to rock shows on the regular.

But this was different.

SP (if you didn’t read that wiki link) plays “covers of 1980s hair metal hits while parodying the bands that made the songs famous.”

They also wear animal prints. And ripped up mesh shirts and sequined pants. The hair…has to be wigs…right?

Just looking at the guy on the left cracks me up. You should see him live. Primping. Lip glossing. Hair spraying. Amazing.

I laughed. A lot. I made that rock symbol with my fingers. A lot. I drank. I danced whilst holding and drinking a big cup of beer. So basically I sloshed. To songs by Motley Crue.

All of the hair whipping and fan blowing and rawking and f-bombing and pulling girls up on stage and asking them to…well you can probably guess…they’re so cliche, it’s awesome. And like I said, hilarious. I definitely expected it to be much more a cover-band experience and much less a comedic rock romp. Don’t get me wrong, tho. They do sing. Covers and originals. And it’s good times.

A couple of times we thought they were lip-syncing, but that’s confirmed only by the fact that we thought it independently of each other and then mentioned it.

The crowd – as you might expect – is full of guys, but there was a good number of ladies there as well. So many rocker dudes. So much hair. Insert guy in a Wayne’s World trucker hat here.

As far as Juke Kartel (the opening act/neighbors of friends), I really enjoyed them. And I would venture to say I would see them again. And maybe on a sunny, sunroof-open kinda day, jam out to their music while driving down the highway.

Quick side note on the HOB. I’ve been there a couple times before. Most notably for the Gospel Brunch, which I would highly recommend. This was the first time, however, I ventured into the Foundation Room. I loved it. It felt more like a downtown LA bar, and it’s kind of a bummer that I’d have to venture to the strip and valet to visit it again. The crowd was sparse, but the seating is lovely and broken up into areas depending on the size of your group. There’s also an outdoor area, and you’re up on the strip so the views are decent and full of sparkling lights. (Let’s get serious, I love me some night views.) The bartender was nice and filled my glass 3/4 of the way with Jameson before adding the mixer…which helped take the sting out of the $12 price tag. I was a happy girl.

This entry was posted in Live Entertainment, Los Angeles, Music, New Experiences and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

