To Whom It May Concern

Dear Future Mr. Mabsey,

I appreciate that the delay in your arrival has given me the opportunity to explore who I am and what my place in the world might be. I’ve had fun and, while still a work in progress, I think I can say I’m a much better mate than I would have been 10, 5, or even 2 years ago.

But I’m ready for you to show up now.

Not because these eggs won’t fertilize themselves. I have alternative options for that.

And not (just) because I’m ready to not have to be the one to plunge the toilet.

It’s because…I want to navigate while you drive. This is the perfect time for us to take an amazing road trip. To see things we haven’t seen before individually, much less together. To have adventures. To make memories.

Solo road trips can be freeing but they can also be boring at times. And, you might not know this, but it’s super hard to take pictures while you’re driving.

There are so many places I want to see, and while I don’t want to wait for my life to be over, I want to know right now what will it be.

If you’re thinking about Dawson’s Creek right now, I’m sorry, but once I was on the path I couldn’t stop. I promise not to bring up Dawson’s Creek on our roadtrip. Unless we go to the place in North Carolina where they used to shoot it. Wilmington? Outer Banks maybe? Then I’m allowed to bring it up. Should we be driving through Hazard, Kentucky and you feel compelled to bring up Bo and Luke or Boss Hogg, go right ahead.

Should you not know who any of those people I just mentioned are (The Dukes, not the Dawson), I’m not sure this is going to work out. It might, but I’m proceeding with caution.

And it’s not just stateside travel I’m talking about. I get it now. That whole “experiencing places/things for the first time with people you care about.” Don’t get me wrong, if you haven’t been, I’m super stoked to return to Paris or Cape Town. Twist my arm and we can live in either city. But what if you’ve already been to Petra? A place super high on my list, and probably not nearly as magical the second time around?

Full disclosure, I stumbled on a blog of a couple who has been driving around for months and is currently renting a cabin in the woods for the winter. I don’t know how they support themselves, but sometimes I don’t know exactly how I support myself either, so I don’t want to start asking those kinds of questions. Have you heard the story of the loaves and fishes? It seems to be kind of like that.

Their story got me thinking about all the places I want to go that I could reach by car. There are so many. And I don’t mind driving long distances by myself, but it’s the camping and candlelight and nights out and – what – I’m going to sit on a deck in Kennebunkport reading a book and drinking a glass of wine by myself? (Ok, well that last one sounds down right lovely, but still.)

I’ll never forget the way it felt back in 2009 as I rounded a bend of I-90 in Idaho (of all places!) and caught my first majestic view of Lake Coeur d’Alene.

I did not take this photo.

Breath-taking. And those are the moments where – if you’re me – you want to hit someone on the arm and tell them to LOOK! Even tho there’s no possible way they couldn’t already be looking.

Oh yeah, I sometimes hit people or squeeze arms/legs when I get excited about things. We can alternate sides I sit/stand on to even things out.

I hope this doesn’t sound desperate, because I certainly don’t feel desperate. I mean, would a desperate girl turn her back on potential suitors when the online dating route reminded her why she is not a fan of online dating? (If I should, by chance, meet you online, I will not take back all I’ve said about the process and while we’ll be appreciative, we won’t ever mention it, k?)

Truth is, I will continue on my Mary way until you come around, as I’m not one for waiting when it comes to things I want to do. But if you could possibly show up sooner than later, that’d be great.

Love,
Me

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to To Whom It May Concern

  1. Lyndsay says:

    Cute. Fingers crossed he’ll be around soon. BTW, send me the address to the traveling couple, will you please? I have a couple friends who are toying with that exact same idea. Romantic.

Leave a Reply

