Queen Mary

I made my maiden voyage this weekend to the ship with whom I share a name. FYI I wasn’t named for the ship. Or even the queen. I share my first name with my maternal gma, who is the queen of our family. She never really goes by Mary, tho, but that’s a different story.

This was the second time I’ve ever set foot on a cruise ship. The first time was several years ago, when I visited my friend K who at the time was working on a ship and in port.

So I’ve yet to be on a cruise-ship-type vessel at sea. And I’m completely ok with that. As much as I love traveling (which is a whole lot), my body is not the greatest at it. It’s especially not a fan of things in constant motion.

In addition, I’m not a fan of being on a schedule when exploring new places. I can’t stand the idea of getting less than six hours to visit and experience a locale for the first time. I’d rather pick a destination and stick it out for 5-7 days. Investigate it. That being said, I see the benefits when it comes to people who aren’t comfortable with traveling the way I prefer, or who enjoy not having to plan anything. And I just recently read cruising is a very affordable way to see the world. So I get it.

And I have to say, I love the romanticism of it. As we explored the ships floors and hallways, I couldn’t help but quote Titanic. Which leads me to another reason I couldn’t cruise. The Alaskan cruises seem the most attractive to me, and you know what’s near Alaska? Icebergs.

Then there’s that whole stomach virus thing you get from door knobs. No thank you.

So there we were running down the halls looking for Jack – er – I mean the exit – when I saw that housekeeping was in the process of cleaning rooms. I had to take a peek. And the lady was so lovely to let me do so. And I was shocked. The room was huge. Like a regular hotel room with a port hole for a window. The friends I was with (who have been on a cruise) said rooms aren’t usually that large.

As we sat down in the ship’s bar, I couldn’t help but imagine the thousands of people who had sat in the chairs before us. (I could be wrong, but it doesn’t look like that part has changed very much. Except the caution tape, that’s probably an addition.) A couple tables down from us was a foursome of ladies in hats and furs. A little overdone, perhaps, but I could appreciate their Molly Brown-ness. (I will not stop with the Titanic references!)

The Queen Mary is now a hotel, and I totally get the novelty in staying there. You know, except for the whole haunted thing, but some people are into that.

I’ve seen the Queen Mary several times from the mainland, and I was happy to finally make it over there. A bike ride on a sunny Sunday in Long Beach can trick you into believing you’re on vacation. Which is definitely a fun way to live. Especially when you throw lobster scallop corndogs into the mix.

This entry was posted in Friends, New Experiences and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Queen Mary

  1. I’m curous did you get a look at the Radio room?

  2. A. Nony Muss says:

    I’d love to see the ship in real life. Alot younger then Titanic, but still an overall beautiful ship with a fascinating history.

  3. I understand it’s said to be haunted.

  4. Pardon me, not the radio room but the ship itself.

Leave a Reply

