Christmas Shopping

For some reason the only adult I’m really good at buying presents for is myself.

When it comes to friends, or boyfriends, or parents, or my Gma if I can’t come up with something super awesome, I bow out gracefully. I love the feeling of seeing and/or thinking of something and knowing exactly who in your life couldn’t live without it. I don’t like buying something just to buy something.

In general, I’m not a huge shopper. I would say I definitely spend the bulk of my money on experiences and travel.

That being said, I’m currently in the packing process to be away for a couple of weeks. The trip includes stops in St. Louis and Austin. The weather in St. Louis will supposedly hover in the 30s (jealous?)…Austin, meanwhile, promises slightly higher temps (50s). I used the slight difference to necessitate a shopping trip. After all, I’m only taking one suitcase so everything is going to need to work in both places. There was only one solution as far as I could tell: layers.

(PS I totally thought those temps would be more varied. Truth be told, you can never predict the weather in St Louis and Austin can fluctuate as well.)

Lucky for me I have a friend whose job it is to dress people. So I was all, hey! Let’s go shopping! I had hired her to help me dress a host for me, but we had never gone around with her suggesting things for me.

It wasn’t exactly like that scene in Pretty Woman when they finally let her shop, but it was super fun. She had great advice and was very encouraging.

I apparently have a style that I participate in but am not fully aware of. Because whenever I go shopping with friends and pick something out, they always say “Oh that’s a very Mary Anne shirt/dress/etc.” My style was also addressed by the girls-turned-new-friends I volunteered with in Africa and Haiti.

I very much stick with what’s comfortable – and reasonably priced. I’m definitely into boots/flats…and dresses…and leggings/jeggings/tights/skinny jeans. I was going to say I don’t wear leggings as pants, but if the shirt is long enough…let’s face it, I’ll use any excuse to not wear pants. I won’t, however, wear leggings as pants and then a short top. Those ladies are super brave.

Excited for the next couple of weeks, and happy to know I’ll look mostly put-together whilst imbibing in fun times with family and friends.

I can’t believe I just wrote 400 words about shopping…

This entry was posted in Los Angeles and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

