Can’t Cook This

Years and years ago, a couple of friends and I shot a cooking show in one of my friends’ basements. My memory of it is crazy hilarity, but until one of them finds the old VHS, there is nothing to confirm – except for the fact that more than 10 years later…we still quote it.

The show was called Can’t Cook This. My name was Martha C. Hammer. And we made a birthday cake.

I’m also pretty sure I laughed until I peed my pants.

I’m not sure if that was caught on tape.

Recently I’ve watched, related to, and laughed at several episodes of My Drunk Kitchen (Warning: language) and it reminded me of the time I filmed myself using my Kitchenaid mixer for the first time.* (Except I wasn’t drunk.) I was 30 and skinnier then and I was super tan (for me) because I had just returned from a week on Grand Cayman. I also still had a PC which only kind of explains why the videos are not edited together.

So without further ado…

 

Is it weird to watch three year old videos of yourself and hardly recognize yourself? That girl had no idea that within 13 months she would be laid off from a job she loved, take an awesome cross-country roadtrip, backpack through Thailand and Cambodia, and suffer the biggest heartbreak of her life.

You take the good, you take the bad, you take them both, and there you have: the facts of life. And banana bread.

*I’m much more a baker than a cook, and I still very much love my mint green Kitchenaid mixer. I coveted it for at least a decade. One might call it the Airstream of my 20s.  I used to go visit the ones on display at Sur La Table. True story. It’s such a bridal shower gift, but I wasn’t getting married. So when I turned 30, a group of my friends went in together and bought it for me.

This entry was posted in Baking, Food, Life, New Experiences and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

