It’s A Wonderful Life

I went to the library today to collect some old magazines to use for an art project I’m working on. A local branch had a few bins they were getting ready to recycle, and they were more than happy to let me go through them.

One of the issues I chose at random was the December 2010 Good Housekeeping. As I flipped through the pages, I came across a short short called The Greatest Gift by Philip Van Doren Stern. First published in the magazine in 1944, it’s what the movie “It’s A Wonderful Life” was based on.

This is the part where I tell you I LOVE It’s A Wonderful Life.

That this is one of my favorite movie scenes of all time:

 

That an ex and I named our imagined future daughter Zuzu.

And yet, I had never read the short story.

Two quotes from the piece – courtesy the kind and wise stranger George meets on the bridge – seemed to lift from the page:

“Man never knows when he’s well off.”

“You had the greatest gift of all conferred upon you – the gift of being a part of this world and taking part in it. Yet you denied that gift.”

I’m very much a believer in divine intervention, things happening for a reason, and my fairy godmother. So I spent a good part of the day wondering why I was reminded today of what George Pratt/Bailey learned.

Because my It’s A Wonderful Life day actually began when I read this story People published about the girl who played Zuzu.

I like to think that I do a pretty good job of taking advantage of how good my life is. How lucky I am. I know there are days when I could be more productive, you know, add a few things to the daily task list I give myself.

Clearly I should get more specific about not just posting blogs, but actually writing things.

This entry was posted in Life, Movies and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

