It’s Beginning to Look (A Little) Like Christmas

It may or may not surprise you that I don’t go all out when it comes to Christmas decorations. As in, this is the most I’ve done in the 8 years I’ve lived on the west coast. Don’t get me wrong, I love a twinkling Christmas tree, but it’s a lot of work for a little bit of self enjoyment. Especially since I am always traveling around the holidays. The idea of moving a chair out to the storage unit to make room for a tree that I’ll have to take down after being gone for two weeks deters me from putting one up in the first place.

As far as the stockings, they’re the suggestion of my friend L who last year when I said hanging one was too lonely looking, thought of the M-A-B (my initials) trio. I have to admit it looks pretty cute. (I also should admit that after seeing the commercials for so many years, I was super excited to use those 3M slide hooks. We’ll see just how easy and mark-free their removal really is come January.)

Speaking of cute, the Little People Nativity Set. I love it.

My older sister recently mentioned that it would have been a good idea to collect Christmas ornaments from all the places I’ve traveled for when I do start putting up a Christmas tree. I agreed that it would have been a great idea, had she thought of it – and told me – 15+ years ago when I started traveling on my own. I guess I have a lot of backtracking to do. Can I start with Cape Town by way of Paris?

This entry was posted in Holidays and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

