A Camping We Will Go

I bought a tent today. It’s pretty exciting because A – I’ve never had my own tent before, and 2 – it means I’m going camping soon. The wkend part of Thanksgiving wkend to be exact. A group of friends and I will be heading to the deserts of southern California. Where we’ll see things like this:

You guys. Those are purple mountains majesty!! And guess what else?? There are hot springs! I couldn’t be more excited. And then, while looking for images of the hot springs (which I’m guessing from reviews might just be pools filled with naturally-climatized water), I found this:

If you know me at all, I don’t have to tell you why this picture is the best thing that’s happened to me so far today. It’s like my fairy godmother just gave me a glimpse into my future. Dear FG, I approve.

I’m not sure when I became obsessed with Airstreams. Matthew McConaughey may or may not be to blame. But seriously, what’s not to love? They’re wanderlust on wheels. Wanderlustmobiles.

In my whole life, I’ve never lived in any one place for more than four years. Since I was born 33 years ago, I’ve had 21 addresses. I was just able to write down all the streets. Ho-lee crap that’s a lot of moves. It should be said that 14 of those are in the 15 years post high school graduation, and therefore a result of my own decision making.

LA has had the most luck with keeping me inside one city’s limits. I moved up here in January 2005 from San Diego, and aside from my seven months in Paris in 2006 and the couple of months I spent in STL paired with the five in Vegas in 2009-Jan. 2010, I’ve stuck with the City of Angels. Something about it always brings me back and keeps me entertained while I’m here. Any antsy feelings I’ve had during that time have been salved with a move to a new apartment.

For obvious reasons, I’m not a fan of one-year leases. My friends are quick to point out that I’ve lived in my current place for over a year and a half. But I’m loving my location, and have traveled enough to keep life fresh enough to not feel stagnant by being in the same apartment. I consider this an improvement.

One of the first things Nancy (my therapist extraordinaire) observed was how temporary my life has always been. There has never been any permanence (aside I guess, from my family, but I haven’t lived within weekend driving distance of them for the past 8 1/2 years (except those two months in 2009)). In my own life, there were always new schools, new friends, new jobs, new apartments, new loves, etc etc etc.

I marvel at people who were raised in the same house their whole lives and still live in the same town. They love it and are totally fulfilled by it, which is awe-some to me. I graduated high school with people who had known each other since kindergarten. For me, kindergarten had been three states and four school districts ago. I can’t remember the name of a single classmate.

Was moving so much growing up hard? Sure. Did I get mad and yell at my parents and beg to stay with friends in order to not have to leave? Definitely. Would I change any of it or the person it made me? Not a chance. First of all, unless you’re related to me, I probably would never have met you. Because judging from how incredibly shy I was as a child, I probably would have become a recluse a la Emily Dickinson. Who became famous. Great. Nevermind I AM mad. I could have been famous!

So Nancy* told me I needed to come up with ways to keep my gypsy soul entertained whilst actually living a life of permanence that will eventually lend itself to future goals like kids and a successful marriage.

Which brings me back to the Airstream. It seems to be just what the doctor ordered.  Not to say regular vacays involving flights and hotels aren’t great – as I love those too – but a silver bullet trailer embodies spontaneity and adventure. No reservations – or plan – necessary. Dream fantasy.

*As much as I may mention Nancy, I only saw her for like six weeks, at which point she looked at me and said “Well, I think we’re done here. Call me if you need me.” I’ve shared what she taught me – as well as the tools she gave me – with friends, and I’d say we’re all pretty grateful for her wisdom.

This entry was posted in Airstreams, Camping, Life, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Camping We Will Go

  1. Lyndsay says:

    We love ourselves some camping. Pack some warm blankets and have too much fun!

Leave a Reply

