Pumpkin Waffles

This morning I was supposed to go to Runyon Yoga for the first time, but I slept in instead, which gave me a great excuse to pull out the old Belgian waffle maker and celebrate the veterans.

It may surprise you to know that I love kitchen gadgets. This waffle maker was a gift probably about 10 years ago. It lives in a cabinet with my fondue pot and mandolin slicer. I’m very much a scrambled-egg person, but every once in a while I like something different. Some new friends recently sang the praises of the TJ Pumpkin mix, so I decided to try it.

Despite my aforementioned love of kitchen gadgetry, I do not own a microwave. So I had to melt the butter the old-fashioned way. Surprisingly, I didn’t burn it.

I got these glass mixing bowls because that’s what they use on cooking shows. And sometimes – even as an adult – I like to play pretend.

Once I mixed the wet ingredients into the dry, it looked a lot like vomit. Perfect! Luckily it smelled a lot better. And yes, I use a measuring cup as a ladle. I don’t really eat soup so I’ve never had a need for a ladle. I am thinking I might try to snag my mom’s old white plastic Tupperware measuring bowl with a spout when I’m home for Christmas. For memories sake. When I was little and it was my dad’s* turn to make supper, it meant we were either going out (White Castle), getting pizza, or having pancakes/waffles. They had a sweet orange square waffle maker. I remember sometimes getting to have waffle ice cream sandwiches for dinner. Cool parents alert!

I bet these pumpkin waffles would make AWESOME ice cream sandwiches.

The finished product! I just used regular syrup and it worked. (I had briefly panicked that pumpkin pancakes needed a special topping.) And yes, I eat most of my meals on my couch.

*My dad is one of several veterans I’m especially grateful for today. My brother also served. As did one of my uncles, my granddaddy, a couple of my exes and many great friends I’ve met through those guys over the years. Thanks everyone for the sacrifices you make. I’d make you all waffles any day.

This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

